甚麼是不育症

根據世界衛生組織,不育症是指在12個月以上沒有保護措施的性交後仍然未能受孕。全球有15%的育齡夫婦受不育症的影響。2002年由香港基督教女青年會進行的調查顯示,香港不育症的個案有所上升,由1992年十分之一的夫婦受影響,上升至2002年的六分之一。

shutterstock_251244184

不育患者和夫妻會受到甚麼挑戰?

發現患上不育症後,夫婦很多時會感到震驚並會質疑診斷結果,而計畫尋找其他醫生的意見。之後,不育夫婦也會面臨很多關於治療和替代育兒方案的決策。

隨著輔助生育技術(ARTs)的發展,不育夫婦將有機會透過其他方法成為父母。目前,體外受精(IVF),即是「試管嬰兒」手術,是不育夫婦最常用的輔助生育技術。2010年,一共有3340名不育病人進行了共4016次的「試管嬰兒」手術(人類生殖科技管理局,2010)。

儘管如此,因為治療過程複雜,加上對治療結果的高期望,會引起焦慮等的心理症狀。這在轉移胚胎後等待期特別明顯 (Hammarberg, Astbury & HWG, 2001)。

此外,當當前的治療周期失敗時,患者需要決定繼續或是終止治療。每個人對生育和育兒的慾望都不同,包括夫婦之間。不少人會把育兒看成成人階段的重要里程碑。不育問題一定會為他們的人生帶來很大的影響。

不育症及其治療對患者及配偶在:自我、愛/性、社會、工作、夫妻關係和其他健康問題上都可能有頗大的影響,甚至因此導致精神健康問題(如抑鬱和焦慮),降低自尊感、自我價值,影響生活素質。

shutterstock_520232287

身心靈全人模式如何幫助不育患者和夫妻?

我們發展了身心靈全人模式在中國不育婦女上的應用。 相信比起其他心理治療,身心靈全人模式更為全面,而且十分適用於香港。

身心靈全人模式與現有一些身心治療方法有一些相似之處,因為它們都包含放鬆技能訓練,如冥想,意象治療和正念訓練 (Chan et al., 2011)。很少干預有顧及到靈性需要的部分而身心靈全人模式則包含了增強抗逆力和靈性成長。Domar et al. (2001) 證實,靈性健康與不育症相關的憂鬱症和抑鬱症狀呈負相關,而身心靈全人模式則可以從身體、心理和靈性的層面上緩解這些症狀。

目前研究結果

隨機對照測試(RCT)證實了身心靈全人模式有效降低正在接受「試管嬰兒」治療婦女的焦慮。Chan et al. (2006) 發現,參加身心靈全人訓練課程的女性減輕了因「試管嬰兒」治療引起的焦慮情緒,從而改善了他們的身心靈健康。在目前研究中,我們將會以一節身心靈全人模式課程來教導有需要婦女,讓她們自我應用。採用隨機對照測試設計,研究將說明這種使用身心靈全人模式的自我干預是否以及如何幫助在等待「試管嬰兒」治療結果的婦女。

最近,我們正在準備供婦女使用的自助包裹,讓她們在14天的治療結果等待期間可以加強心理調節和應對。自助套件包含關於壓力與不育症的關係、身心運動、按摩練習,冥想和呼吸練習的資訊。參加者將在接受「試管嬰兒」治療之前參加一節課程,然後取得自助包裹。有42名女性參加的試點研究顯示,自助包成功幫助降低了等候治療結果期間的焦慮程度。

shutterstock_468170402
Contact Us

Start typing and press Enter to search

What is infertility?

According to the World Health Organization, infertility is “a disease of the reproductive system defined by the failure to achieve a clinical pregnancy after 12 months or more of regular unprotected sexual intercourse”, 15% of childbearing-aged couples globally.

As the survey carried out by Young Women’s Christian Association in 2002 indicates that infertility is rising in Hong Kong, nearly one in six couples is infertile, compared to one in ten two decades ago.


What challenges are faced by individual/couple with infertility issues?

From discovering infertility, the individual/couple will experience shock, disbelief and doubt towards the diagnosis, resulted in an urge to seek a second medical opinion, and questioned the accuracy of diagnosis. The individual/couple will also be facing decisions related to pursuing medical treatment and alternative parenting options.

With the advancement of Assisted Reproductive Technology (ARTs), the infertile couple would have opportunity to regain their loss due to infertility. Currently, in vitro fertilization (IVF), more commonly known as “test tube baby” procedure, is the most popular form of ARTs for infertile couple. In 2010, a total of 4,016 IVF treatment cycles were conducted among 3,340 patients (Council on Human Reproductive Technology in Hong Kong, 2010).

Nonetheless, the complexity of treatment procedures, coupled by high expectation over the treatment results, will produces adverse psychological symptoms such as increased anxiety, especially when treated subjects go through an awaiting period after transferring embryo to find out if the treatment had worked (Hammarberg, Astbury & H.W.G, 2001).

In addition, high level of ambivalence can be experienced when patients need to decide whether to continue or terminate treatment when the current cycle fails, which is often embedded in a midst of socio-cultural considerations such as childbearing desire and cultural attitudes towards fertility, especially in societies who regard maternity as a central milestone in adult development and childlessness will cause major disruption in women’s lives by inferring with the established and desired life course.

All in all, infertility and its treatments poses challenges to the individual’s life tasks: self, love/sexual, community, work, couple relationship and other health concerns, which can potentially lead to mental health issues (e.g. depression and anxiety), lowered self-esteem and self-worth, and dampened quality of life in the long run.


How to live with infertility?

Developed by a local team of social workers, the IBMS intervention aims at enhancing the holistic well-being of Chinese infertile women. It is believed that the IBMS intervention is more comprehensive and culturally relevant compared to other psychosocial interventions.

The IBMS shares some similarities with existing mind-body therapies as they both include relaxation skills training such as meditation, guided imagery, and mindfulness training (Chan et al, 2011). While few interventions have component that deals with people’s spiritual well-being, the IBMS aims at promoting spiritual well-being by fostering resilience and spiritual transformation. Since other studies Domar et al (2001) had proved that the levels of spiritual well-being were negatively correlated with distress and depressive symptoms related to infertility, it is believed that the IBMS is of great importance to alleviate symptoms and achieve the general well-being from physical, psychosocial and spiritual perspectives.

What are the findings from I-BMS project?

The effectiveness of I-BMS intervention on anxiety reduction for women undergoing in-vitro fertilization (IVF) has been proved by randomized controlled trials (RCTs). Chan et al (2006) found that women who participated in the I-BMS alleviated the situational anxiety for IVF treatment and further improved their holistic well-being. In the current study, the I-BMS intervention is also anticipated to be helpful as a self-administered package for individual women in need. Adopting a randomized controlled trial design, the study will provide evidence on whether and how this self-administered intervention may help individuals who are at awaiting period of IVF results.

More recently, the I-BMS team condenses the intervention elements into a self-help package for women undergoing IVF treatments in order to enhance their psychological adjustment and coping during the 14-day treatment result-waiting period.

The self-help kit contains information about the relationship between stress and infertility, body-mind exercises, therapeutic massaging, meditation and breathing exercises. Participants will attend a workshop before their IVF treatment and be delivered the self-help package afterwards. Pilot study with 42 women showed the self-help kit helped decreased the anxiety level, as compared to those who received no psychosocial intervention.

Contact Us

Start typing and press Enter to search